4 November 2019

Professor Lin Li receives two prestigious awards

Arthur L. Schawlow Award
At the Laser Institute of America (LIA) annual meeting held at the 38th International Congress on Applications of Lasers & Electro-Optics, in Orlando, USA, 9th October 2019,  Professor Lin Li, Former President of AILU, Director of Laser Processing Research Centre at The University of Manchester received the prestigious Arthur L. Schawlow award from the LIA, in recognition of his pioneering research and development of laser based manufacturing processes and his entrepreneurial drive and vision to commercialize technologies.   The award was presented to Professor Li by the LIA’s Past President, Professor Milan Brandt.

Arthur Schawlow was a Nobel Laureate in Physics for his contribution to the development of laser spectroscopy.  LIA established the Arthur L. Schawlow Award, since 1982, to recognize individuals who have made outstanding, career-long contributions to basic and applied research in laser science and engineering leading to fundamental understanding of laser materials interaction and/or transfer of laser technology for increased application in industry, medicine and daily life. 


Donald Julius Groen Prize
Professor Lin Li was also awarded the prestigious 2018 Donald Julius Groen Prize from the Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE) on 16 October 2019 in London, for his “outstanding contributions to research and education in engineering innovations in mechatronics and manufacturing, and in particular for his leadership in laser based additive manufacturing”.  The prize was presented to Professor Li by President of IMechE, Professor Joe McGeough. The Institution of Mechanical Engineers was established in 1847 and now has 120,000 members in 140 countries. The prize was nominated by Division of Mechatronics, Informatics and Control Group Board of IMechE.

Back to top